If you are a retired veteran, or a veteran of the armed forces discharged under honorable conditions, you are eligible for a veterans designation on your license or ID card.
To receive the designation you must provide one of the following documents:
Effective in June 1997, Alaska adopted a military extension policy that states that your non-commercial driver's license is valid for 90 days after discharge or return to the State of Alaska, whichever occurs first. As long as you are military personnel, your Alaska non-commercial license is valid. Effective January 1st, 2011, the policy was extended to military spouses.
A commercial license issued to a person domiciled in Alaska must be renewed every 5 years. If you are stationed outside of Alaska and you hold a commercial license, your Alaska license is not eligible for renewal. You must surrender your Alaska license to the state where you are currently living and obtain a commercial license in that state.
Please continue to keep your address updated with Alaska at all times.
Motorcycle Licenses for Military Members:
In Alaska a motorcycle license is a class of license and not an endorsement. This means that under Alaska law a person obtaining a new class of license, such as a motorcycle license, must be examined by the DMV. Due to the requirement to appear in person, the Alaska DMV cannot make any modifications to your current class of license if you are not physically present in the State. This also applies to members of the military who may be stationed out of state.
EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL OF DRIVER'S LICENSE.
(a) Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, a driver’s license expires on the licensee’s birthday in the fifth year following issuance of the license. A license may be renewed within one year of its expiration upon proper application, payment of the required fee, and except when a license is renewed under (c) of this section, successful completion of a test of the licensee’s eyesight. (b) The department may defer the expiration of the driver’s license of a person who is outside the state under terms and conditions that the department shall prescribe by regulation.
REGULATION: 02 AAC
DRIVER LICENSE RENEWAL EXTENSION FOR MILITARY PERSONNEL AND SPOUSES OF MILITARY PERSONNEL.
Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, a non-commercial driver's license issued under this chapter to a person who is military personnel and who is stationed outside of this state, and that person's spouse, are extended beyond the expiration date until the earlier of the following dates:
(1) 90 days after the person who is military personnel is discharged from military service;
(2) 90 days after the person's return to the state.
If you feel you need something else in addition to the information above, a card is available to military personnel and military spouses that can be carried with the expired Alaska license. If your license is going to expire soon and you would like a military extension, click the link here (Military Extension Card) to download your extension card. If you have any questions feel free to e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org
Military Driver Licensing Exemption
AS 28.15.021(3) exempts a member of the armed forces of the United States or, if the member's spouse is 18 years of age or older, the spouse of a member of the armed forces of the United States who has a valid driver's license issued by another jurisdiction when the permanent residence of the member or spouse is maintained in that jurisdiction.
Obtain a CDL with Military Skills Test Waiver
Alaska DMV has adopted the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) regulations to assist military veterans obtain a commercial driver license. As of June 27th, 2014, active duty service members who are currently licensed and who are or were employed within the last year in a military position requiring the operation of a military motor vehicle equivalent to a Commercial Motor Vehicle (CMV), may have the skills tests waived to obtain a Class A or B Commercial Driver License (CDL). Applicants are required to take and pass all knowledge tests. School Bus (S) and Passenger (P) endorsements, in addition to requirements for vehicles with air brakes, require both the knowledge and skills tests.
Steps to Obtain a Commercial Driver License Utilizing Military Skills Test Waiver