Duplicate Registration, License Plate(s) or Tab
If your Certificate of Registration, license plate(s) or tab is lost, stolen, mutilated or becomes illegible, then Alaska law requires that you must apply for a duplicate.
Alaska law requires:
- One license plate on motorcycles and trailers
- Two license plates for all other vehicles
- One tab affixed to the rear license plate
Only one tab is issued regardless of whether one plate or two are issued.
How do I request a duplicate?
You can submit your application to your local DMV Office or by mail.
- Vehicle Transaction Application (Form 821)
Please state the reason for the request under "Comments"
- Copy of previous registration, if available (for tab/plate requests)
- Registration Only $2.00
- Year Tab $5.00
- License Plate(s) $5.00
- Personalized or Specialty plate Varies
Please make check or money order payable to State of Alaska. Checks must be pre-printed with your name and address. Your telephone number is required (pre-printed or hand written).
License plates cannot be requested by mail unless the vehicle owner is outside of Alaska or when a DMV office is not available in your area.
To apply for a duplicate set of Personalized Plates, you must apply at a DMV office. You will be issued standard plates to use while the personalized plates are ordered from the manufacturer. Personalized plates take approximately 12 weeks to arrive.
State of Alaska
Division of Motor Vehicles
1300 W Benson Boulevard STE 200
Anchorage AK 99503-3600